Skip to content

Cowboy Reporting and the Fight For Shared Parenting

July 31, 2012

Back in May this year, Ellie Mae O’Hagan at the Graun penned a typically biased – against men – piece about proposals to introduce ‘shared parenting’ as a principle in UK Law. A Family Law firm said she was doing ‘cowboy reporting’ due to her level of bias, and general slip shod approach to the facts.

http://fladvice.org/blog/2012/05/02/cowboy-reporting-by-the-guardian/

I noticed these articles as I am currently writing up an interview with Colin Riches, a campaigner for shared parenting and equal access rights of fathers.

I will write more on this soon but first I urge you to sign the petition he will be presenting to Government:

http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/23102

My interest in this case, apart from my general belief that gender equality is not just about teh wimminz, is personal. I come from a ‘broken home’. Though both my parents were incredibly decent to each other, and I was able to stay with my Dad regularly (whilst living with my mum and stepdad), I still think my life would have been ameliorated if I’d have known my Dad was able to be a full parent to me. It took me many years to realise he hadn’t ‘abandoned’ me but was rather fitting in with the social norm of children living with their mums.

My Dad is an amazing parent. Even as an adult it has tended to be him who has helped me out of scrapes and been there for me through thick and thin. He is here for me now as I type, and as I find myself in yet another ‘scrape’.

But more of that anon. Please sign Colin’s petition and spread the word about the campaign to give children all the parents they need!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,923 other followers

