Skip to content

Suzanne Moore Fails To Get Gore

August 1, 2012

Gore Vidal has died and the world is a poorer place today. In amongst the tributes, the re-runs of his best one-liners and the anecdotes, Suzanne Moore tweeted a quote from Vidal’s gender-bending novel Myra Breckinridge. I have to say I was a little bemused at her gall.

Vidal’s leading lady is a damning indictment of the gender binary, and people’s fixation with who is a man and who a woman. A fixation Suzanne Moore displays herself.

Not only is the Guardianista still, in 2012, attached to the hackneyed essentialist Victim Feminism that I know and hate so much, she is also a promoter of the myth of the ‘natural woman’. Her article from a while back, that I discussed under the heading Human Impersonators was full of prejudice about women who are not REAL WIMMINZ. Whether you have had botox, plastic surgery, or gender reassignment procedures, be sure that Moore disapproves. Suzanne also has been known to question my ‘authenticity’ as a woman, an attempt to undermine me that only served to make me more proud of who I am and what I stand for.

So I don’t think she should be quoting such an iconoclast who consistently stuck two fingers up to gender, as Vidal.

And I am saying this now, not because I am feeling particularly inclined to mention our Lady of the Manor again, but because I am going on a blog break. And of all the people (of which there are quite a few) who have tried to stop me from writing Graunwatch, I’d say Suzanne Moore has most obviously, nastily and pointedly shown her desire for me to STFU.

Unfortunately for her, once I have recharged my batteries and had a rest, I’ll Be Back. And writing with as much verve as ever.

So I will quote one of MY favourite Vidal aphorisms as a reminder to Suzanne Moore and her cronies that sometimes it is best to bide your time, for the last word can be sweet:

‘The four most beautiful words in our common language: I told you so.’

- Gore Vidal, RIP.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 16, 2012 9:02 am

    Surprisingly, I’ve never read Myra Breckinridge. Guess I should get busy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,919 other followers

